JUNE 10th


A virtual class traditional Chinese puppetry with Master Puppeteer Chen Lihui will be held Friday, June 10, 2022, at 9:00 am EDT, sponsored by World Artists Experiences and the Embassy of the People’s Republic of China. Participation is free but registration is required at https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_bZflzr0JTYOrqZEXZyPsgg 

Master Chen will lead participants through a tour of the Zhangzou Puppet Heritage and Protection Center, followed by a puppet making demonstration and a puppet show by renowned puppeteers. Participants are encouraged to follow along while making their own craft puppets using paper and the cardboard insert from a roll of toilet paper.  

Master Chen is an artist who has performed in more than thirty countries. World Artists Experiences is a non-profit organization that fosters transnational and cross-cultural understanding by bridging people and cultures across continents and through shared artistic experiences. More information is available by email at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Zhangzhou Glove puppetry are widely used in traditional opera orchestras.
It is one of the contributions of Chinese performing art to the world’s culture and has developed a set of characteristic techniques of performance and puppet making, as well as repertoire of plays and music.
In 2012, strategy for training coming generations of Fujian puppetry practitioners was selected by UNESCO on the Register of Good Safeguarding Practices


World Artists Experiences bridges people and cultures across the continents.

HOPEFULNESS….. Virtual platforms kept WAE alive AND opened new avenues.  Artists offered fresh ideas and gratitude for WAE. Audiences anticipate the human touch.  We are reminded by people everywhere of the great need to bridge our world. We hope that you will continue to support WAE with your time, talents and resources.  

GRATEFULNESS….. We express heartfelt gratitude to faithful, caring and committed volunteers, friends around the world for their encouragement, and to our generous donors for their financial and other support.                                               

THOUGHTFULNESS…..With your inspiration, ideas, kindness, and talents, the important work of bringing people and cultures closer by dialoguing, forming friends around the world, and dialoguing to build trust, respect and peace using the art as our bridge will continue.  

Thank you for your creativity, kindness, support and embracing World Artists Experiences. We, together, will continue to bridge our fragile world for mutual cultural understanding.  On behalf of all of us, may your holidays be filled with joy and beauty and your New Year with good health and peace. 

Betty McGinnis and

The Board of Directors

World Artists Experiences

World Artists Experiences (WAE) is a non-profit organization that builds bridges for international understanding through cultural and citizen diplomacy in communities, colleges, and schools in Maryland, Pennsylvania, and nearby states. Since 2003 WAE has partnered with over 125 countries to present diverse and rich cultures through a variety of experiences.
Ambassador Series: The Ambassador Series sponsors performances by renowned artists that represent their country and culture. Experiences include music, dance, poetry, visual arts, and other art forms. They are held in numerous communities. Each Community has a WAE Ambassador Team to organize the experience in a giving and receiving relationship in their communities, including welcoming, hosting, and presenting the artists. Ambassador Series events are free to the public.
Cultural Immersion Experiences: Cultural Immersions are day-long experiences designed to give an in-depth understanding of the people and cultures of a country or region of the world. Each day is filled with embassy visits, exhibitions, museum visits, concerts, and food from the country or region. The experiences are educational and are designed for schools, colleges, and organizations.
International Education: WAE coordinates with schools and colleges to provide professional development for educators to help them inspire their students to learn about the world, its cultures and its people.
Cultural Ambassadors in Schools. WAE provides opportunities and resources to educators for them to promote international understanding and global citizenship among their students.
Workshops. Workshops are conducted for educators and students to encourage creative writing on international and inter-cultural themes. Professional credits are often awarded.
Visual Dialogue and Cultural Exchanges. Students in the United States and other countries are encouraged to exchange artwork and open dialogues.
International Education Month. WAE promotes November as International Education Month with ideas and activities for communities, schools, and colleges. WAE works with Maryland’s Secretary of State to issue the Governor’s proclamation of International Education Month.
Bridges to the World Film Festival: Each February and March WAE screens films from five countries in communities throughout Maryland. The films are provided by the embassies. They are free to the public.
Advising and Consulting: Upon request, WAE advises and consults with organizations, schools, colleges, and others on cultural and citizen diplomacy.
GLOBAL PARTNERSHIPS: WAE works with embassies in the United States. The embassies arrange for their country’s artists to perform in the United States through their cultural exchange programs. WAE may work directly with Ministries of Culture and Education and with International Organizations.
DATE FOUNDED: WAE was incorporated in the State of Maryland October 1, 2002. The first season was 2003-2004. Seasons run from July 1 to June 30 of the following year.
ORGANIZATION: WAE is an all-volunteer organization. There is no paid staff. The number of volunteers in a year varies from 500 to 3,000 depending on the needed activities. WAE has a core group of over 350 volunteers. WAE is governed by a Board of Directors.
FUNDING AND TAX STATUS: WAE receives donations from individuals, foundations, corporations, and businesses. WAE is an IRS Section 501(c)(3) Public Charity
CONTACT: World Artists Experiences, PO Box 9753, Arnold, MD 21012; phone: 410-647-4481; email:
wae@comcast.net; Webpage: www.WorldArtists.org.

World Artists Experiences (WAE) is a non-profit organization that builds bridges for international understanding through cultural and citizen diplomacy in communities, colleges, and schools.   In its 12-year history, WAE has partnered with over one hundred fifteen countries around the world to present their diverse and rich culture through numerous experiences.


Social Media

WAE Calendar

July 2022
1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30